Let’s Change the World!

Posted: March 12, 2014 by efenster in Ideas
Tags: , , ,

“I believe we can change the world in ten years.”  This statement was made byhs_bias_timothy_04-533x800 Tim Bias, the new General Secretary (chief executive) of the General Board of Discipleship of The United Methodist Church, at his installation service held in Herndon, Virginia, last week.  I was sitting in the congregation, and when he said those words, I sat up.  He had me on the edge of my seat.  You see I long to change the world too.  I’m guessing that you do as well.  In the Gospel Jesus paints a picture of a changed world and invites us to be world changers.  Could it be that God could change the world through us–in ten years?

Bias says that “we’re the instruments that God uses to redeem the world.”   Even though he acknowledges that he’s now a “church bureaucrat,” he says, “I don’t care about saving the church, but saving the world.”  Once again, I’m nodding my head vigorously.  How about you?  “If we just pray, we can change the world.”  Do you believe that?  Do you believe we can change the world in ten years?

I invite you to pray about this.  Pray for Tim Bias, our General Board of Discipleship, and the whole church.  Every second Monday of each month there are leaders throughout the Midwest who are fasting and praying for our church.  Please consider joining us.  God has been changing the world and will continue to change the world.  Let’s not miss out and be left on the sidelines…

— Ed Fenstermacher, Associate Director of Church Development

Leave a Reply

